Oman · Investing
Oman Investor visa
First stay: 10 yrs
Investor visa (5-year or 10-year, Royal Oman Police)
Checked against official sources on Record corrected 11 Oct 2026Change log
Key facts
Investor visa is an investing route for Oman. Checked 2026-10-12 against the official source.
- Government fees
- OMR 500 ≈ $1,300 · OMR 250 ≈ $650
- First stay
- 10 yrs
Cost, time and long term
Government feesOMR 500 ≈ $1,300 · OMR 250 ≈ $650
- OMR 500 (≈ $1,300)Visa fee for the 10-year investor visa.
- OMR 250 (≈ $650)Visa fee for the 5-year investor visa.
RenewalRenewal rules
The Gov.om service page does not state renewal terms for this visa.
Where to applyWhere to apply
The application is submitted through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion once the investment conditions are met. The Royal Oman Police then reviews and approves the visa.
Why this route may not fit
Check this before you apply.
- Only from age 21
What you'll need
Who can apply2
- The applicant is at least 21 years old.
- The applicant meets the investment conditions set by the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion.
What you must show1
- The service page states no investment amount; the investment conditions are those of the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion.
Documents2
- A certificate issued by the competent authority is required.
- A passport and a digital personal photo are required.
Steps2
- The application is submitted through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion.
- The Royal Oman Police reviews and approves the application.
What happens at day 183
How Oman decides tax residence and treats foreign-source income, from its tax records.
- Stay on this route
Up to 10 years at first
- Tax residence
- More than 183 days in a tax yearMore than 183 days, continuous or intermittent, makes a person a tax resident.
- Foreign-source income
5% PIT from 2028
Royal Decree 56/2025 introduces a 5% personal income tax on annual income above OMR 42,000 (≈ $109,000) from 1 January 2028; residents will be taxed on income in Oman or abroad, non-residents on income in Oman only.
All tax rules for Oman Tax records checked
Full official text
Five- or ten-year investor visa issued by the Royal Oman Police to foreigners aged 21 or over who hold a certificate from the competent authority and have met the investment conditions. The service page states the fees but no investment amount. 1
What you must show and pay
- A fee of OMR 500 (≈ $1,300) · Visa fee for the 10-year investor visa. 1
- A fee of OMR 250 (≈ $650) · Visa fee for the 5-year investor visa. 1
Requirements
- The applicant is at least 21 years old. 1
- The applicant meets the investment conditions set by the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion. 1
- The service page states no investment amount; the investment conditions are those of the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion. 1
- A certificate issued by the competent authority is required. 1
- A passport and a digital personal photo are required. 1
- The application is submitted through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion. 1
- The Royal Oman Police reviews and approves the application. 1
Stay
- Valid 5 or 10 years depending on the chosen visa.
- First stay: 60 to 120 months, decided case by case.
Fine print
The Gov.om service page states the fees, the minimum age of 21 and that the application goes through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion after the investment conditions are met. It states no investment amount, and it prints the fees as 500 and 250 without naming the currency; they are shown here in Omani rials. The Ministry's ten-year Golden Residency programme sets a minimum of OMR 200,000 (≈ $520,000) (see the Golden Residency routes); no official page read states an amount for the five-year visa.
Official sources
- Get Investor Visa (service page, updated 10 August 2025) · Gov.om / Royal Oman Police · checked 2026-10-12 · published 2025-08-10
Investor visa and its alternatives
| Route | Money needed | Stay | Work |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investor visa | – | 10 yr | – |
| Golden · Tourism property | Needs an investment of OMR 200k+ ≈ $520k | – | – |
| Golden · OMR 200k deposit | Needs an investment of OMR 200k+ ≈ $520k | – | – |
| Golden · OMR 200k bonds/shares | Needs an investment of OMR 200k+ ≈ $520k | – | – |
| Tourism complex owner visa | – | 2 yr | – |
Questions people ask
How much money do I need for the Investor visa?
A fee of OMR 500 (≈ $1,300). Visa fee for the 10-year investor visa. A fee of OMR 250 (≈ $650). Visa fee for the 5-year investor visa.
How long can I stay on the Investor visa?
Valid 5 or 10 years depending on the chosen visa.
How are Investor visa holders taxed in Oman?
No special regime in our records is tied to the Investor visa. The standard rules apply: Corporate income tax is 15% of net taxable income; 10% is deducted from payments to non-residents for services, interest or royalties; VAT is 5%. Personal Income Tax (Royal Decree 56/2025) takes effect from the start of 2028 at 5% on income above OMR 42,000 (≈ $109,000) a year; a person present more than 183 days in the year is a tax resident.
More in Oman
Investment visas elsewhere
≈ USD figures are approximate: daily reference rates from ExchangeRate-API, dated 12 Oct 2026, refreshed when the site is updated.
Ask the AI about this route AI
An AI assistant answers from the published records on this page and cites them. It can't assess your personal eligibility. Don't include personal details.
How this was checked
Checked on 2026-10-12 against 1 official source. Status: verified against the official sources.
Every figure on this page comes from the official source it links to. The record was researched against these sources, then reviewed separately, with special attention to effective dates and amendments. Where a source does not state something, the page leaves it out.
- Get Investor Visa (service page, updated 10 August 2025) · Gov.om / Royal Oman Police · checked 2026-10-12
Tracked since 2026-10-10. Rule changes and corrections are listed on the changes page, and the methodology page explains how facts are checked. Found something out of date? Email contact@stayglobe.app with a link to the official source.